old school hoopsta
Years ago

Referees

With all of us hearing the excuses that there is a shortage of refs what is being done about it, as a coach i'm sick and tired of having games played with one ref or umpire in charge doing games is this basa's problem or not

My idea is all u16 boys and girls div 1 thru to div 5 do a umpires course at every club cost factor should be either wiped or subsidise thruclub fees, even if u only pick up 4 or 5 kids per club it still worth doing.

Topic #1161 | Report this topic

yogee  
Years ago

Well coach, why dont you make it a team rule that all your players must do a refereeing course, and then must offer to ref at least 1 game a week?

It all starts from the bottom :)

Reply #12989 | Report this post

beyondthearc  
Years ago

coaches take your whistles with you cause you might just get to referee your own game

Reply #12990 | Report this post

yogee  
Years ago

Coaches reffing their own games.

What a great idea...then they can put up with their own cr@p!! :)

Reply #13001 | Report this post

Alf  
Years ago

Last time I was at Wayville I came across a proposal from Paul Arnott to get the Forestville juniors involved with reffing... I only skimmed it but from what I saw I was quite impressed. Do you have a copy of it on the Forestville website Arnie??

Perhaps this is the approach that needs to be taken, getting players, coaches and even parents involved. Refs aren't going to come from anywhere else.

Reply #13002 | Report this post

Paul Arnott  
Years ago

The FAST program - "Forestville Apprentice Scheme for Trainees" (a great example of picking the acronym first) is a joint initiative of Forestville and the BASA Wayville UICs. The details of this program haven't made their way to the Forestville web site yet, but will in the next week. The gist of it is this: