Anonymous
Years ago

Looking for a club to play for

Hey all,

Newbie here,looking for help.. I'm going to be studying in Adelaide for the next 4 years and am looking to join a basketball club.. (2008-2011) But have no idea what levels there are and how it works to join.. Would really appreciate if anyone could give a rough guide on how it works to join a club (as an international player) any level in the Adelaide basketball league..

Quick profile:

6'1, 18 year old SG, have been playing ball for the past 6 years and have been on my highschool's team for the past 4 years. Not exactly a "star" player but can shoot the ball when i'm open fairly well. Willing to pass more than shoot if needed.

Just looking for a club to join not too far away from the city, to develop my skills and play competitive ball. Any help really appreciated! Cheers!

Topic #14316 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

woodville warriors could use you

Reply #168395 | Report this post

Bizzy  
Years ago

Give Glen Matheison at Forestville a call - and have a chat. They are based at Wayville so not too far from the city.

His number is available here

Reply #168404 | Report this post

lockstock  
Years ago

We have what is called a district competition in Adelaide (Australia) - starting at under 10 and going through to 12s, 14s, 16s, 18s and 20s. You would be under 20s.

Once you finish playing in the above junior comps you go play seniors. Divs 1-5 again at senior level, however you won't play div 1 or 2 unless you are fairly talented.

Around 10-15 clubs participate in divisions 1-5. If you are ery good you play 1s, decent you play 2s, ok 3s and so on. Sounds like you may be at around div 2 or 3 level based on your write-up.