Anonymous
Years ago

Where is the referee accountability

I don't want a ref bashing thread but I have seen some pretty dodgy refereeing tonight and I got to thinking where is the accountability for the referees? I have had conversations with the referee in charge, even contacted BSA with a complaint but have never received any feedback on what has been said or passed on. Right now IT APPEARS that the referees have the right to conduct themselves in any manner they choose and there is little that can be done about it. Am I missing a step? Is there another neutral observer (not a referee) that can give constructive opinions to these referees or will all issues continue to fall on deaf ears?

Topic #31365 | Report this topic

Pie Cart  
Years ago

Which stadium tonight?

Reply #413074 | Report this post

Referee  
Years ago

That is untrue. As a Referee myself, we do get held accountable for our actions on court, especially if a complaint (or more than one) comes in against you.

I know of a Ref who was suspended because of his actions on a game.

We do get held acdountable, its just not for public eyes.

Reply #413075 | Report this post

bees knees  
Years ago

explain more anon so we can discuss

Reply #413077 | Report this post

PlaymakerMo  
Years ago

When there's a shortage of referees, accountability takes the back seat.

Making poor (subjective) judgement calls in a game will always happen, and shouldn't be lingered on by players and coaches.

However, when referees just don't give two shits, or are blatantly incorrect about the rules (interpretation guise FTW): this is when accountability issues really set in.

Reply #413078 | Report this post

no respect  
Years ago

Why is there a shortage of Referees?
Just askin.....

Reply #413096 | Report this post

Knowitall nawt  
Years ago