Anonymous
Years ago

How does Broken Hill qualify as SA Country?

My first experience with SA Country trials yesterday and noticed a few kids from Broken Hill. How do they qualify as last I looked Broken Hill is in NSW?

Topic #33075 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

Broken Hill is technically on the NSW side of the border but has always aligned itself with SA. Broken Hill kids have always been SA Country.

I guess you're worried that the Broken Hill kids might take your son or daughter's spot.

Reply #443974 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Haha love it!

Reply #443975 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

If a Broken Hill Kid is better than my kid so be it. As I said I am new to the SA country program and didn't know why they played for us.

Reply #443986 | Report this post

Young Gun  
Years ago

They are only 5 hours drive from Adelaide vs. 13 hours to Sydney. They also align themselves with SA time.

Reply #443993 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

PS - Check out the weather report on TV tonight.

Reply #443996 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Broken Hill is/was a mining town, as Adelaide is the closest capital city to BH most of the population were miners brought in from SA hence why they use SA time in Broken Hill and although technically in NSW it's always been considered a part of SA.

Reply #444003 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Yer dad get off the forum

Reply #444044 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Why are metro based players being selected????

Reply #444046 | Report this post

=  
Years ago

dont get too technical - we want more competitive bball and including mildura and bhill (would like to see alice as well) in our country cups only strengthens it / improves profile.

Reply #444049 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago