Anonymous
Years ago

Should the Heat trade Bosh for Asik??

I have no inside knowledge and havnt seen a rumour, was just thinking how good the Heats line up would look if they traded Bosh for Asik.

It fits perfectly for both teams imo.

Bosh as a pf, who plays more on the outside hitting mid rangers, would fit nicely next to Howard.

Asik would give the Heat what they have lacked the last few years, and with Beasley doing fairly well i reckon he would do ok starting at PF or atleast splitting minutes with Lewis.

How do people think this line up would go

Asik/Andersen
Beasley/Lewis/Haslem
James/Battier
Wade/Allen
Chalmers/Cole

I personally think it would be awesome and would put them in a better position to compete with the bigger teams like the Pacers.

Will it happen, probably not, but if you were Heat GM would you want it to?

Topic #33374 | Report this topic

Statsheet Stuffer  
Years ago

Nah, the whole concept of Miami's defense is scrambling and court coverage. Asik simply doesn't fit the mould.

He's a better offensive banger than Bosh, but Bosh's extended range means that he fits better into the team's offensive scheme as well.

Second, if it were to happen, Haslem would start and not Beasley.

If they are looking at the future though, go for it because the Heat stars are 1)getting a bit old and 2)may not be around next season, with Lebron an upcoming free agent.

Interesting discussion about the fillers though. Which team sweetens which? Bosh is not given the credit he deserves and is still an outstanding player (he just doesn't get the liberties that other teams would give him), but he's getting a little long in the tooth. Asik could become a dominant big man in the NBA quite soon. It's a toughy if you're looking at it like that.

Reply #450264 | Report this post

Statsheet Stuffer  
Years ago

They have Greg Oden don't forget*

Reply #450267 | Report this post

The Cheese  
Years ago

Never break up a championship core.

That's the Cheese