MELHOOPS
Years ago

Pay Day for Coaches

I was reading the Dominique Wilkens Thread (the part about Junior Coaches being paid $300 a month) and thought I'd start one about coaches getting paid here in Aus.

I have been coaching juniors at Rep level for about six years now and have not received a red cent for my contribution and nor have I ever expected any sort of payment. The popular thought is always to do it for the kids or for the game of Basketball when talking about juniors.

At what stage should a junior coach expect payment for his/her services or should they treat coaching juniors as "servicing their apprenticeship" and wait until they are good enough to coach seniors?

How much does/should each level of coach earn?

Topic #3646 | Report this topic

what the  
Years ago

does one seek financial or other reimbursements?

Reply #42474 | Report this post

MELHOOPS  
Years ago

Lets just say I'm what one would call a career coach and I'd like to know if, when & how much one would seek financial or other reimbursements.

Reply #42475 | Report this post

ITA  
Years ago

MELHOOPS - clearly, you are not a true baller.

Reply #42483 | Report this post

what the  
Years ago

depends on your position within the structure of the club.

hours put in
qualifications
RESULTS - not just win / loss - but recruiting, development, promotion of game / club
financial situation of club

could be anything from $20 to $20,000

Reply #42490 | Report this post

MELHOOPS  
Years ago