Dazz
Years ago

The CHARGE Rule?

I am no expert on rules. I only know what I have picked up over the years, playing as a kid, then watching and listening to commentators.
All of which means I can be slow to pick up on changes.

Which leads me to ask if the rules have changed? (Maybe in the past few years even?)

IIRC there were 3 charge calls last night. One I didn't really see too well and it wasn't replayed, but two were.

Now all crowds love charge calls against the opposition, and hate them against the home team. That's just part of the fun. Refs can and do make mistakes, and I have no beef with the overall standard.

And at the end of the day, there will be those who disagree with my observations, and that's fine, I'm not the ref.
Just curious as to the interpretations.

I THINK it seems to hinge on the concept of "initial legal guarding position" and then on what is accepted movement?

How do you establish that initial position, and how long must it be held for before the defending player can start moving? Also what is acceptable in terms of subsequent movement?
It seemed to me in the two cases that the defending player was "constantly" in motion, however if you took a strict interpretation, perhaps that initial position can be established almost instantaneously.

Topic #38220 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

Feet down, in front and facing. Once you have ticked these three you can move laterally and or backwards to maintain your position. As long as the contact is on the torso its a charge. I love it when people scream...he/she is moving! ! They are allowed to. People who scream this dont know the rule.

Reply #555794 | Report this post

koberulz  
Years ago

The two on Prather were clearly the right call. Don't remember what the other one was.

Reply #555795 | Report this post

Very Old  
Years ago

Slight edit