Dominik
Years ago

coaching job at school or club

Hi,
I am European basketball coach from Poland. I work with youth players and seniors. I worked as an assistant coach on Polish Superleague Level last year. I graduated basketball school for coaches organized by Polish Federation few years ago. I have had some experience working with diffrent youth teams. I'm wondering if it is any opportunity to get coaching job in Australian youth team? What could You recommend me?
Dominik

Topic #41723 | Report this topic

Isaac  
Years ago

Others will know more about this, but I wouldn't presume to get paid for this role, especially coming in cold without contacts.

It might be the leagues to look at are SEABL, Big V, QBL, SA Premier League, etc but I don't know that assistant coaches at those levels get paid all that much. You would need to be an exemplary talent or you'd be coaching a bit beside a day job.

Generally the head coach will be leaning on a club up-and-comer or rope in a friend to help them.

If you literally mean "the" Australian youth teams, then I can't see how that would be any chance - there are a lot of strong junior coaches taking those spots already.

Are there still youth leagues under the ABL level? Seemed to happen for a while in SA and then went quiet?

Reply #645154 | Report this post

Bigballer  
Years ago

Hi There, the coaching roles for junior clubs in most areas of australia will have been filled as the upcoming season approaches in 5 - 6 weeks.

You could get in touch with local basketball associations BasketballSA Basketball Victoria etc (dependent on where you are living) and if your coaching credibility is very high, approach NBL clubs to see if you can assist the development players in some way?

getting a foot in the door is the first step and usually requires it to be on a volunteer basis at first.

Reply #645159 | Report this post

Duke Fan  
Years ago