diverite
Years ago

Basketball participation: some interesting stats

A thread was on here not long ago asking about Stat's on Participation rate for Basketball. As I have a Masters Degree in Stat's, I have access to ABS stat's. Dr Dunkenstein asked the question (I think) so I hope this give you an answer. All Stat's are from 2004 as the 2005 are not ready yet and all figures are rounded to the nearest 100.

Number of people who participate in Basketball: 508,000.

By Gender - Male: 335,500. Female: 172,500.

By Age: 15-24 yr, 325,900 (11.7% of total age population); 25-34 yr, 92,600 (3.1%); 35-44 yr, 51,100 (1.8%); 45-54 yr, 32,500 (1.2%); 55-64 yr, 4,400 (0.2); 65 yr+, 500 (0.0)

Now here is the interesting Stat that shows how many people are playing ball in this country but not playing in an organised competition. Playing Organised ball - 301,700 (59.4%); Playing Non-Organised ball - 203,300 (40.6%).

In South Australia the total number of people playing basketball - 51,500; Males - 30,500; Females - 21,000.

Somne of these figures might be hard to believe, but the ABS figures are very reliable.

Topic #5697 | Report this topic

HO  
Years ago

Ok, if you are close to the source can you answer a question for me?

The ABS rates swimming as a much bigger participant sport than basketball and always has. Does the research differentiate between organised (club) swimming and non organised (turn up to the pool for a dip swimming)?

My problem with the "stats" is that it often appears that if you put your toe in the pool you are a swimmer and therefore a participant, if you shoot a single hoop for the past year that does not make you a basketball though.

How do ABS get around these sort of anomalies?

Reply #64440 | Report this post

Hangin Round  
Years ago