SVD
Years ago

The Crossing Back Rule

I have been playing basketball for 15 years now - for sometime of that time I was playing at a decent level - at a guess I have played 70 - 80 games a year across a number of competitions for the last 10 years. Basically what I am aluding to is I know basketball.

The one thing that I don't get and have never understood is the crossing back rule. In particular when a player with the ball straddles half court. Without doubt when a player stradles half court and picks up his/her dribble it is 9 times out of 10 called crossing back.

I would understand if the player straddles the half court line and then lifts their foot that is in the front court. But why when someone stops - straddles the half court line - picks up their dribble - waits 2 or 3 seconds before passing. Whitsle blows - Crossing Back.

It happens heaps when teams trap. The dribbler is trapped at the half court line - pick up their dribble - couple of defenders on him/her - whistle - Crossing Back.

It is at the point now for me that it has been called all of my basketball life so I accept that it will be called but I have no idea why.

Happened to a team mate last night. He was at half court - picked up his dribble was making a decision where to pass and they called it. He was not moving after he staddled the line - he was just standing their - you could tell it would be called and it was. I asked the ref why - he had no answer he just said it was.

I'm guessing it was coz it looked like it was. It has been called his whole life like that so it just gets called.

Is it like footy - if the ball breaks the plain of the half court it can't go back? Or is it (as i suspect) every ref has been making this call up my whole basketball life - it looks like it should be back court - so it is?

Topic #10821 | Report this topic

Isaac  
Years ago