Question
Years ago

What is Goorjian saying?

Not really being a basketball expert, I'm wondering if it's just me or does anyone else have difficulty figuring out what Goorjian is saying during those time outs (as shown on Foxsports)?

He throws around a bunch of terms which I can't work if it's normal basketball jargon or some special code words only he uses for plays, defensive sets, etc.

Topic #13237 | Report this topic

Kent Brockman  
Years ago

Don't worry not even the players know what he is saying most of the time.

Most of what he is saying is pure jargon

EG "Shakes" is one of their offensive sets.

I remember when Heal was commentating a game and Carfino asked him as a former Goorjian player if he understood what was being said at a time out. He responded that " you kind of work it out after a while"

Reply #154511 | Report this post

Isaac  
Years ago

I wonder if any of it is a conscious decision to confuse opposition coaches listening to his time-outs, or just all part of some bizarre natural style.

Reply #154516 | Report this post

Dana  
Years ago

I don't think he says anything of any more value than what Phil says. At that level the players should already know what they're doing. Sorry, but if a play by play needs to be spelled out during a time out, there's something very wrong.

Reply #154525 | Report this post

Isaac  
Years ago

Dana, you should write that in a memo to all NBA coaches too. Think of the money they could save on play boards.

Reply #154527 | Report this post

Works  
Years ago

Dana,

SO obviously a coach is not needed in games?

What a load of crud!

Good coaches are able to direct the focus of the offence. To exploit the weaknesses they see in the other team. To give their players, who are in a hottly contested competitive situation, some clarity and detail.