Isaac
Years ago

NH: Anyone watching the IPL?

I've caught bits and pieces of a few IPL games so far and it's seemed pretty entertaining. One game (Mumbai, perhaps) had a mostly empty stadium, but a couple of the other games were almost packed out in huge venues.

Main issue seems to be that I have no knowledge of what makes a good 20/20 score or a reasonable strike rate for bowlers. I'm used to tuning into a one-dayer, seeing the score, and knowing how that sits for a typical score or how far off the records it would be.

Anyone else watching the IPL?

Topic #15624 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

yeah who knows what a good score is, 200 i think seems good. I also dont know why they toss to see what they want to do everyone bats first. Also after the aussie players are gone i have little conection with the team and dont really care who wins or looses (can be a good thing) I think it will continue to be big in India but not so much in other nations.

Reply #184143 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

I have watched just about every match on Channel 10. Australians have scored 3 out of the 4 centuries in the IPL so far. It is great watching Gilchrist, Hayden, Watson, Symonds play well. Unfortunately Ponting hasn't played too impressively.

Despite the time difference, i like the IPL concept and there are huge crowds to just about every game. Unfortunately the crowd act like such lunatics they have (and need) a large fence around the ground.

A good score depends on the pitch. It is harder to predict in the sub continent than in Australia because we get little spin or reverse swing. I would suggest 240+ would be a good score, however in India the scores are generally lower because of the conditions so i would suggest 200+ would be a better than average score.

Reply #184145 | Report this post

Isaac  
Years ago