Nick
Years ago

Spalding Beast or Platinum 52 inch - thoughts?

Hey people,
I'm a newbie here - just wondering if anyone has had any direct experience with the Spalding 60 inch Beast portable basketball system or the Platinum 52 inch portable system?

I need to get one - however am concerned that most of them sway and wobble a bit here and there. I presume the beast or the platinum would be pretty sturdy - but am just wondering if anyone has any absolute direct experience messing around with one?

BEAST = http://www.armandosports.com.au/spalding-beast-60-basketball-system-p-580.html

Platinum = http://www.armandosports.com.au/spalding-platinum-series-52-basketball-system-p-24.html

Cheers in advance!

Nick

Topic #19521 | Report this topic

LC  
Years ago

All portable systems will sway and wobble a bit. I have a Platinum 52" model and it is awesome!

Reply #231074 | Report this post

KingJames  
Years ago

One is 45kgs the other is 166kgs... I think that decides which is there more sturdy

Reply #231086 | Report this post

IGOTMADSKILLS  
Years ago

i have the inground one m8 on the site(purchased from rebel at marion) and that is brilliant but obviously you cant move it around, no sway no wobble, you can hang on the rim, true bounce and looks awesome.

Id go the beast if you are willing to pay the cash as it will last for years if you look after it.

Reply #231089 | Report this post

Nick  
Years ago

Thanks for your replies!

LC - does it wobble much or is it barely noticeable and does the ball bounce off of it pretty truthfully?

Ideally I would buy the beast - but nowhere in adelaide sells it so I wouldnt be able to see it until it were delievered.....Rebel arent allowed to stock it for some reason.

Also - there is over $1000 in price difference. If the platinum is generally pretty good for just practicing shooting and layups etc I may as well go with that?

Reply #231113 | Report this post

Nick  
Years ago