TONY
Years ago

Fend off rule when with the ball

Hi all, I am a basketball coach and want my team to have the right understanding of what they can and can't do.

What is the deal with the fend off rule when a player has the ball. Can he physically use his arm bar to push his defender away? Can't find it anywhere in the FIBA rules?

Topic #22317 | Report this topic

peter  
Years ago

no, because you are extending outside your cylinder of occupation. this is especially called if the offensive player makes first contact

Reply #267810 | Report this post

the pink sofa  
Years ago

arm bar fine as long as you do not extend it and go outside of your cylinder - or use your elbow.

can not push as player off if they are not in your cylinder.

even the presentation of "showing an elbow" in a another players face or vigorous clear out with no contact is a tech foul now

Reply #267824 | Report this post

TONY  
Years ago

if the defender is however in the cylinder (for example when the ball is dead and the defender is playing shut-out defense) is the defender allowed to fend off, and how can they do this legally?

Reply #267830 | Report this post

TONY  
Years ago

I am now slightly confused because in the FIBA rules it says it is a foul if the offensive player with the ball

"PUSH OFF TO PREVENT THE DEFENSIVE PLAYER FROM PLAYING OR ATTEMPTING TO PLAY THE BALL, OR TO CREATE MORE SPACE BETWEEN HIMSELF AND THE DEFENSIVE PLAYER"

But I thought with the above that if the defender is in the cylinder then the offensive player can push off but not with elbow?

PLEASE HELP!

Reply #267831 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Tony, a little know addition to the rules above is that the sturt basketball is immune to prosecution for ignoring them.

Reply #267842 | Report this post

helium  
Years ago

do you understand the cylinder, i think that maybe where your confusion is coming in

Reply #267843 | Report this post

TONY  
Years ago