DB5
Years ago

Should Cleveland retire Lebron's number?

Okay, was catching up on NBA news over the weekend, and skimmed over an article somewhere (SI maybe?) that questioned whether or not Cleveland should retire Lebron's number.

Now I have little knowledge of Cavs history except my memories of Craig Ehlo (he he) so maybe some Cavs fans can fill me in here, but has Cleveland ever had a better player?
(Please no Shawn Kemp jokes lol).

Career averages of 28, 7 and 7 over 7 seasons are great averages no matter how much you like/hate the player.

Thoughts?

Topic #23429 | Report this topic

No Deal!!  
Years ago

I think Dan Gilbert's reaction would give you a fair idea about the thoughts within the club of Lebron...I highly doubt they retire his jersey after the way he exited. Does he deserve it? probably, but I just can't see it happening.

Reply #283760 | Report this post

Ricey  
Years ago

I don't think stats alone should determine if a players number should be retired... Ewing and Robinson for example, both had great stats but more so where better leaders and also contributed plenty off the court!

So no I don't think LeBron should get his number retired by the cavs at this point or in near future

Reply #283769 | Report this post

hereschenes  
Years ago

There's an honour and respect element to having your number retired, surely. Regardless of LeBron's career numbers to date, there's simply no way Cleveland will retire his number, ever (notwithstanding a highly-unlikely future LeBron return to the Cavs.) Having said that, there's probably no Cleveland player that will want to wear the number anyway, unless they bring it with them from another club.

re. other great Cleveland players, Mark Price comes to mind. Wikipedia lists these as Cleveland's currently-retired numbers:

• 7 Bingo Smith, F, 1970-79

• 22 Larry Nance, F, 1988–94

• 25 Mark Price, G, 1986–95

• 34 Austin Carr, G, 1971–80

• 42 Nate Thurmond, C, 1975–77

• 43 Brad Daugherty, C, 1986–94