basketball taxi
Years ago

Three Vics from U17 worlds switch to AFL

Disappointing to hear that 3 Vic boys from the last U/17 Worlds are not playing basketball and are playing AFL. Hope it is not a trend.

Topic #25457 | Report this topic

whooo?  
Years ago

Do you know which 3?

Reply #316076 | Report this post

basketball taxi  
Years ago

Ash Constable, Jarryd Fryer & Sam Gilmore, so I have been told!!!

Reply #316077 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

All good moves by the boys. In my opinion (and I am NO EXPERT) none of them had the potential to play INtnerationally beyond U17 worlds. All will do VERY handsomly with the AFL.

Reply #316079 | Report this post

LC  
Years ago

Constable and Fryar have signed up for Bendigo's U18 TAC Cup team.

Reply #316081 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Playing AFL and MAKING AFL are two completely different things.

But if it's true, then good for them.

BA, with the NBL under the BA umbrella, needs to provide legitimate pathways, money and job security for young players. If our players can't work (and they aren't interested in college), then they should do something else.

Same thing for coaches.

Reply #316089 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Instead of doubting their ability to succeed people should be more worried about the fact 99.9% of players in Australia have no real hope of living the dream whereas there are more chances in other sports. Good luck to them and I hope they make it.

Reply #316096 | Report this post

RugBaller  
Years ago

Agree - AFL is a better option for the future of these boys

Reply #316100 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

316096, you could say the same thing about AFL players. There are a hell of alot more kids playing AFL than basketball.

A young kid should give basketball a crack. The AFL/SANFL has a large number of former good basketballers in it.