Paul Luchter
Years ago

Single Game Scoring Records

I am a sports researcher. I am looking for all basketball games in which an individual scored 47 or more points (though the lower limit is variable and arbitrary, I decide it below 47. NBA begins at 49).

I am interested in filling in gaps. I came across an old forum thread on this subject. Can't locate it now, but it didn't serve my purposes as it was too lacking in details. I am interested in team names, dates, or at least years. Specificity.

The first page I will show you is the NBL listing. I noticed today I am missing a name in the second 50 point entry, a 1984 game, West Adelaide v Illawarra. My guess is this was Al Green, but I haven't been able to find it again. Can anyone verify that it is he? (was he?)

This list is lacking older, below 57 point entries, probably mostly pre-1984, but maybe later as well. Although my lists are usually more thorough than official ones, and the official one only goes down to around 57, maybe adding to this list is difficult..

That may be the easy part of my inquiry. The other leagues, and lower levels, school ball, etcetera, may prove harder, as this was where most mentions on the old forum thread were almost allegorical.

The following are on two pages, but I am listing 5 links, so as to get you to the correct portions of these very large pages:

In addition to adding scoring accomplishments I do not have, I am interested in "fixing" the lists if my headings are incorrect. I presume some of it is wrong as to league names, and such.

For all male non-regular season NBL games and all adult players, here is where the listings are:
http://www.luckyshow.org/basketball/100pts.htm#Ozmen

For all male youth, including college, high school and under 20 year old leagues, etc., here is where they are:
http://www.luckyshow.org/basketball/100pts.htm#Ozboys

For scoring records for those playing on Australian national teams, go here: