NBL fan
Years ago

Advice for basketball tryouts?

so i'm going to tryout for the high school basketball team, and i'm a bit nervous, what should i expect at tryouts? what should i do? what do they do at tryouts?
how hard is it to make it?
i like to play center, however i'm only 5'11, i like shooting layups and mid-range, i'm not very good at 3 point shooting.
i've never played basketball for a proper team, just with friends and school, and i love to watch basketball and play it.
thanks for the help.

Topic #30699 | Report this topic

lol  
Years ago

I'd expect just simple passing and shooting drills

Reply #401995 | Report this post

.com  
Years ago

do what you are asked to do by the coach.

ask for tips to improve - show a high work effort and dont worry about mistakes.

Reply #401996 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

If you play 5 on 5 make sure you keep the floor spread and get to the hoop and score thats all some coaches look for.

Reply #402022 | Report this post

Jake  
Years ago

If you are wanting to play the 5 don't worry if you don't hit the 3 ball. Demand the ball down low and bang away in the post.

Listen to the coach and play hard on D and do the 1%ers

Reply #402046 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

How old are you? A 5'11" 10 year old is great for a centre but at 16 you are probably going to play in another role.

Jake: It's fine to demand the ball down low and bang away in the post when you can match up against the opposition bigs but if you're a midget in the land of the giants it is likely to be ineffective.

Reply #402054 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

If you make it be sure to be prepared for sooks to say you didn't get in on merit...

Reply #402061 | Report this post

DRose  
Years ago

You got to crash the boards, hustle hard and play with heart. Show everything you can do and play to your strengths.

Reply #402084 | Report this post

Gruff  
Years ago