Advertising spot currently available.
Minimum three month period (1.5+ million page views, 92% Australian).
Email [email protected] for rates and options.

Dunk Basketball Uniforms

AD: Office space available in Adelaide CBD @ 313 Halifax St;
Suit creatives; freelance desks or space for 2-4 person business. More info

Curtley
Earlier this month

#41273

Statistical Questions

Some Qs regarding the awarding of statistics to players.

1. If you block a shot and simultaneously grab the ball are you awarded a block and a rebound?

2. If you inbound the ball to someone that scores soon after do you get an assist?

3. If you pass to someone who is fouled while shooting and misses the shot but makes at least one free-throw do you get an assist?

4. If you pass a ball that is defected by an opposition player, then the ball goes to a player on your team from the deflection who scores, do you get an assist?

5. If you are given a technical foul that also gives the opposition possession do you get a turnover as well as a foul assigned to you?

6. If you are fouled while taking a shot and it misses does this count as a shot attempt or only if it goes in?

Report this topic


 

Anonymous
Earlier this month
13:35 9 May 17

Reply #635362

re: Statistical Questions

1. No, as a rebound needs to involve glass
2. Yes
3. Yes, as long as one free throw attempt is scored
4. Yes
5. Good question - not sure
6. No, if it doesn't go in it doesn't count against your FGA stats

Is this a quiz?


Report this post



PlaymakerMo
Earlier this month
13:36 9 May 17

Reply #635364

re: Statistical Questions

1. Correct.

2. I believe so.

3. I believe 2 made FTs constitute an assist?

4. Depends on how much the deflection impacted the pass.

5. No.

6. Only if the FG is made.


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
13:39 9 May 17

Reply #635366

re: Statistical Questions

re: 1.

If you block and catch the ball to gain posession but it didn't go off the backboard how is it a rebound? Logically it would be a block and steal? Thoughts?

If you block a shot, it hits the backboard/rim, then you gain possession then it's a block and rebound.


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
13:40 9 May 17

Reply #635367

re: Statistical Questions

Or 'rebound' can be off of a player you blocked I suppose? As it 'rebounded' off of your opponent.


Report this post



koberulz
Earlier this month
13:46 9 May 17

Reply #635370

re: Statistical Questions

1. No, as a rebound needs to involve glass
Incorrect.

3. Yes, as long as one free throw attempt is scored
This is only true in Australia, I believe.


Report this post



koberulz
Earlier this month
13:47 9 May 17

Reply #635371

re: Statistical Questions

Or 'rebound' can be off of a player you blocked I suppose? As it 'rebounded' off of your opponent.
A 'rebound' is gaining possession of a missed shot.


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
14:03 9 May 17

Reply #635373

re: Statistical Questions

Yeah I originally wrote that about 1.) then pondered it with subsequent thoughts in other posts.


Report this post



wnba fan
Earlier this month
14:11 9 May 17

Reply #635377

re: Statistical Questions

re questions 6 -thats why foul shots are separate to field attempts


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
14:42 9 May 17

Reply #635386

re: Statistical Questions

1. No.
2. No. Its just an inbound pass. Unless it is a super dooper one.
3. A pass is not an assist. Again if its a super doper one, yes.
4. No.
5. Probably.
6.


Report this post



Red74
Earlier this month
14:52 9 May 17

Reply #635387

re: Statistical Questions

I am a SBL/NBL Statistician....answers below.

1. If you block a shot and simultaneously grab the ball are you awarded a block and a rebound? YES

2. If you inbound the ball to someone that scores soon after do you get an assist? DEPENDING ON WHAT THE RECEIVING PLAYER DOES. CATCH AND SHOOT - YES

3. If you pass to someone who is fouled while shooting and misses the shot but makes at least one free-throw do you get an assist? YES

4. If you pass a ball that is defected by an opposition player, then the ball goes to a player on your team from the deflection who scores, do you get an assist? NO

5. If you are given a technical foul that also gives the opposition possession do you get a turnover as well as a foul assigned to you? ONLY IF THE TEAM THAT WAS TECH FOULED WAS IN POSSESSION AT THE TIME.

6. If you are fouled while taking a shot and it misses does this count as a shot attempt or only if it goes in? DOES NOT COUNT AS A SHOT ATTEMPT


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
15:04 9 May 17

Reply #635390

re: Statistical Questions

Since when is a regular pass an assist. An inbound pass to someone who turns and shoots is a pass never an assist.
Passing the ball to someone who is fouled while shooting and misses the shot but makes at least one free-throw do you get an assist. Hell NO. Yet again it's a simple pass.
Never heard so much BS. Inflated stats for everyone if you are on the bench RED74.


Report this post



koberulz
Earlier this month
15:05 9 May 17

Reply #635391

re: Statistical Questions

While we're asking questions:

If two players on opposing teams simultaneously come down with a rebound and a held ball is called, does the player whose team has the arrow get credited with the board?

If a held ball is forced during a possession and the arrow is with the defensive team, is that a steal to the defensive player and a turnover to the offensive player?

Are eight- and 24-second violations given to the player possessing the ball at the time of the violation, or just the team?


Report this post



Red74
Earlier this month
15:08 9 May 17

Reply #635394

re: Statistical Questions

anon 390-------you are a clown....



If two players on opposing teams simultaneously come down with a rebound and a held ball is called, does the player whose team has the arrow get credited with the board? YES

If a held ball is forced during a possession and the arrow is with the defensive team, is that a steal to the defensive player and a turnover to the offensive player? YES

Are eight- and 24-second violations given to the player possessing the ball at the time of the violation, or just the team? TEAM


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
15:18 9 May 17

Reply #635399

re: Statistical Questions

How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?


Report this post



AussiePride
Earlier this month
09:12 10 May 17

Reply #635503

re: Statistical Questions

Anon 390. You are a complete moron. I hope you don't harbour any ambitions to record stats at any level because you wouldn't last one game.

You haven't even got the understanding to recognise you are being provided with quality information from someone that has performed the task at a high level.

You loser!


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
09:57 10 May 17

Reply #635507

re: Statistical Questions

A pass from the sidelines into a player is no way an assist if they happen to score. The only quality information I see is that everyone's stats will be padded based on the misinterpretations here by many including yourself. The last sentence being the most important.
Even Wikipedia says "There is some judgment involved in deciding whether a passer should be credited with an assist. An assist can be scored for the passer even if the player who receives the pass makes a basket after dribbling the ball. However, the original definition of an assist did not include such situations"


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
10:21 10 May 17

Reply #635509

re: Statistical Questions

And Wikipedia is such a solid reference when it comes to any argument!! I can create and update my own page on Wikipedia, doesn't make it real. Maybe you should be posting in the fake news thread.


Report this post



Dave
Earlier this month
11:09 10 May 17

Reply #635511

re: Statistical Questions

What level is an assist given on a made free throw?

I believe it was under FIBA rules years ago but thought that changed. It certainly isn't in the NBA or NBL.


Report this post



Lukosius
Earlier this month
11:17 10 May 17

Reply #635512

re: Statistical Questions

I have been a SBL statistician for 27 years and can confirm Red74's answers.

For the idiot questioning some of the answers, maybe he needs to question FIBA themselves, as it's their guidelines we follow.


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
12:03 10 May 17

Reply #635519

re: Statistical Questions

"This is only true in Australia, I believe."

and which country are we in, prey tell?


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
12:03 10 May 17

Reply #635520

re: Statistical Questions

pray tell*


Report this post



Isaac
Earlier this month
13:07 10 May 17

Reply #635533

re: Statistical Questions

Thanks to the stats bench guys for chipping in with real answers.


Report this post



Anonymous
Earlier this month
15:24 10 May 17

Reply #635542

re: Statistical Questions

Red74 I said practically on the money, and I've done a couple of international games.
The anon needs to hit the books and not read Wikipedia.

Or even better, get qualified as a statistician himself so he might actually know!


Report this post



Numbers
Earlier this month
10:02 12 May 17

Reply #635666

re: Statistical Questions

I've been doing stats at International, NBL and occasionally SBL level since 1990 so this falls in my wheelhouse fairly nicely.

From the OP, all of the main questions have been answered accurately (eventually) except for Q2. As for the FIBA guidelines from 1/5/16....

Definition of an assist;

- a pass to a player inside the paint, who scores from inside the paint is always an assist
- a pass to a player outside the paint, who scores without dribbling is always an assist
- a pass to a player outside the point, who scores after one or more dribbles, is considered an assist if the shooter is not guarded directly in front of him / facing him. The same principle applies in fast break situations, with a pass to a player at half court

Other notes;

- FT - must make at least one to be credited with an assist
- Distance and type of shot and the ease in which the player scores are not relevant
- No assist shall be given in a fast break situation if the player receives the pass in their own half court

For those looking to increase their knowledge in this area....
http://www.fiba.com/documents/2015/FIBA_Stats_Manual20120920.pdf


Report this post



koberulz
Two weeks ago
23:16 14 May 17

Reply #635851

re: Statistical Questions

- a pass to a player inside the paint, who scores from inside the paint is always an assist
- a pass to a player outside the paint, who scores without dribbling is always an assist
That seems overly generous.


Report this post



Anonymous
Two weeks ago
00:06 15 May 17

Reply #635852

re: Statistical Questions

I disagree about those being overly generous, I think they are very solid guidelines


Report this post



koberulz
Two weeks ago
06:51 15 May 17

Reply #635856

re: Statistical Questions

By that definition you get an assist for passing to someone on the perimeter who spends five seconds throwing fakes before shooting.

You can get a lot done between a paint catch and a score, too.


Report this post



Anonymous
Two weeks ago
12:31 15 May 17

Reply #635895

re: Statistical Questions

"That seems overly generous."

Take it up with FIBA, then.


Report this post



koberulz
Two weeks ago
18:24 16 May 17

Reply #636062

re: Statistical Questions

If two players on opposing teams simultaneously come down with a rebound and a held ball is called, does the player whose team has the arrow get credited with the board? YES
How did this work back in the jump ball days? Did the player in the jump ball whose team came up with possession, or the player who first came up with possession? Or nobody?


Report this post





 

Reply to this topic

Name Email

Random name suggestion for anonymous posters: Phobos 87

Title
Rules: You must read the Terms of Use. No spam, no offensive material, no sniping at other clubs, no 'who cares?'-type comments, no naming or bashing under 18 players. Learn how to embed YouTube videos or tweets
Message

Please proof-read your post before submitting as you will not be able to edit it afterwards.
 


Liam Flynn - basketball coaching and consulting

Recent Posts

.

.


An Australian basketball forum covering NBL, WNBL, ABL, Juniors plus NBA, WNBA, NZ, Europe, etc | Forum time is: 11:38 am, Mon 29 May 2017 | Posts: 655,271 | Last 7 days: 693