Anonymous
Years ago

Unsportsmanlike foul

It's becoming ridiculous this interpretation of the unsportsmanlike foul. Surely common sense can prevail and sports bodies can do their own ruling. In the last minute everyone knows it's going to be intentional, why the pretence? Unless someone is absolutely mugged and in danger of being hurt, why can't the refs use common sense and call it, it actually will solve the problem of fouls not being called and players being wrapped up so a foul is called. Even as an opposing coach I hate it when the call is made and it's soft.

Topic #42401 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

Because no one want to watch a free throw marathon

Reply #662724 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Exactly, no one wants to watch a free throw marathon, how can you have different rules in the last minute to the rest of the game.

Reply #662726 | Report this post

snooch  
Years ago

Free throw marathon? Whatever. It's a tactic that's been used since the dawn of time and there was absolutely nothing wrong with it. Now you're actually asking referees to make a distinction on whether a player is making a play on the ball or not? It's stupid.

Reply #662728 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

the games are already turning into freethrow marathons with the amount of fouls the refs are calling lol

Reply #662731 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

The game is trying to expand to the general sporting public. The purists might understand but the discretionary punter doesnt want to watch 10 free throws in the last 2 mins taking 10 mins to finish the game.

Reply #662734 | Report this post

snooch  
Years ago

The general punter couldn't give two hoots about how many free throws are taken.

Reply #662736 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

Of course snooch they dont care, thats why the game is as popular as AFL and NRL.

Reply #662737 | Report this post

PlaymakerMo  
Years ago