Anonymous
Years ago

Basketball vs the greater market powers

I'm not a statistician or a researcher, I’m just a teacher who has interest in some trends I’ve noticed over the past decade which I wanted to share. I’ve rotated around some of the biggest secondary schools in Australia and it has been surprising to see the great deal of interest in basketball (particularly NBA) amongst our youth and this seems to have grown over the years in my own views.

In my observations, it is more common than other sports for students to be discussing NBA, watching highlights of NBA games, wearing NBA apparel to schools and even down to the little things like participating in the sport or just having an NBA background on their computer. I know it is a small sample size (although some of these schools are in the 1000s) and minor observations but I feel like the NBA/basketball is everywhere amongst our youth while I’d rarely see any of this for something like rugby, footy or cricket.

I guess the figures behind Australia having the largest league pass subscriptions and the largest amount of purchases on NBA store outside of the U.S. kind of support this.

So I could ramble on about this for ages with more observations but I’ll get to my point/question.

Is the sporting market in Australia meeting the demand of its consumers? Should basketball have a stronger place in our media and entertainment. Is it the market power of AFL/NRL/Cricket preventing consumers from meeting this demand. Or am I just imagining that there is this growing mass demand for basketball?

Topic #42854 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

Basketball even in the 80s/90s was the #1 sport in schools and helped the NBL. However this has been exercebated now by globalisation where you can now follow the NBA in real time. and due to this globalisation as the younger generations become the older you will see the "local" sports slowly die off, especially the ones with no global appeal.