Isaac
Last year

NBL will not cite Drmic for Goulding contact

Roy Ward:

The @NBL will not cite Anthony Drmic for his accidental elbow on Chris Goulding. Play on. #NBL19

The contact on the play was ruled as incidental.





NBL content:
The GRP considered submissions from Melbourne and Adelaide and determined that a charge was not warranted.

It found Drmic's action in ripping the ball away from his opponent was a legitimate act in the course of play and contact with Goulding was incidental.

Topic #44115 | Report this topic


Anonymous  
Last year

Commonsense, who would have thought.

Reply #710526 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

Twas an epic hit though. Jon Bones Jones would've been proud.

Reply #710529 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

Goulding should be cited for being a fairy

Reply #710536 | Report this post


Very Old  
Last year

fairy ??? He has wings and sparkles ??? You must be particularly fond of him in that case.

I though he is just a bit of a soft attention-seeking whiner.

Reply #710540 | Report this post


Andy  
Last year

Send Melbourne the bill for the investigation.

Reply #710541 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

Why is everyone so up in arms? It was a solid elbow to the head, it was significant enough to warrant a further look, they did that but concluded it was accidental. The right conclusion was reached but people are still bitching about the people involved. There is nothing to complain about.

Reply #710554 | Report this post


koberulz  
Last year

Yeah, it was always going to be looked at and found accidental. Anstey said as much on the broadcast.

Reply #710558 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

Goulding refused to shake Drmic's hand and accept an apology after the game.

Reply #710580 | Report this post


Callisto 36  
Last year

As a Sixers fan, with a huge dislike to Goulding's behaviour as a player, I still don’t know about this. The force that elbow comes back with....... I think Drmic was lucky.

Goulding probably over played the injury though, well known for his Academy award performances.

Reply #710581 | Report this post


LV  
Last year

I think most people's immediate reaction was similar to Anstey's- accidental contact, it may get reviewed but ultimately there will be no penalty

The NBL has not gone down the path of clamping down on head contact- whether accidental or not- like other sports have.

In the AFL "accidental" isn't an automatic out. You might still have a case to answer.

Whether the NBL should crack down is another question. Probably not- since basketball isn't an overly physical game, and incidents like this will always be rare.

Reply #710636 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

Goulding needs more smack to head just like Gilas players did to him .... dirty player and cry baby

Reply #710755 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

ok

Reply #710756 | Report this post


Anonymous  
Last year

Hi Carl.

Reply #710762 | Report this post




 

Reply to this topic

Random name suggestion for anonymous posters: Red 41

Rules:You must read the Terms of Use. No spam, no offensive material, no sniping at other clubs, no 'who cares?'-type comments, no naming or bashing under 18 players. Learn how to embed YouTube videos or tweets

Please proof-read your post before submitting as you will not be able to edit it afterwards.



Close ads
Dunk.com.au - Custom basketball uniforms
PickStar - The best place to book sports stars
Westside Basketball Association

Advertise on Hoops to a very focused, local and sports-keen audience. Email for rates and options.

Recent Posts



Invoicing clients? Stay productive with Punch, the insightful time tracker that earns you more.

Special offer: $30/month Pay $100 for lifetime access. Sign up now!

.


An Australian basketball forum covering NBL, WNBL, ABL, Juniors plus NBA, WNBA, NZ, Europe, etc | Forum time is: 7:12 pm, Sun 18 Aug 2019 | Posts: 776,725 | Last 7 days: 908