Student
Years ago

Research on player salaries

Hi everyone, I am a university student working on some research in regards to the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on the state leagues' financial situations.

I understand that this will be inexact, but I would like to get an idea on how the player salaries for 'imports' as well as 'good local players' have changed for this past year and going into the future in comparison to previous years.

This is for both NBL1 leagues as well as state leagues such as BigV, QBL and SBL as in most states other than Victoria NBL1 is a new thing.

Thank you to everyone in advance.

Topic #49283 | Report this topic

Anon  
Years ago

Good Luck. Nothing is published. I have an P&L for a club and it doesn't look even breakdown salaries

Reply #873007 | Report this post

UseTaHoop  
Years ago

One thing we know- salaries were halved during covid19.

The NBL made no secret of it.

According to goops, they're all on $400K, but don’t quote that.

Yes u could possibly get general information from player managers, or even the team’s total salary spend if they’ll let you have them.

Another interesting aspect to look at would be the effect on paid appearances.

Reply #873008 | Report this post

UseTaHoop  
Years ago

Oops hoops (this forum) but arguably accurate

Reply #873009 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

As above, good luck.

If you haven't already tried it, approaching the management bodies for the leagues concerned may get you somewhere. You could ask them for aggregate information (e.g., max and minimum salaries over time, average over time, changes to salary caps or restrictions, numbers of players across the league who fall into various salary ranges, by local vs import status. Such information may be held by these bodies (to monitor salary cap rules) and you might get lucky.