Struggling Coach
Years ago

Box and 1

The team i coach struggled last week against a box and 1 defence. When they first showed it, i thought, "YOU BEAUTY!"

but then our offence went stagnate.

I tried putting my gun player on the elbow, block, wing, baseline swinger, i even had him running the point, but nothing was working.

How would you go about attacking a box and 1.

(let's keep this concept and example based, i already know i am a crap coach, so telling me that isn't going to help the situation)

Cheers!

Topic #8156 | Report this topic

Matt W  
Years ago

baseline swinger off a couple low picks could work, depends on the players strengths, im assuming he is a 2/3 type of a kid.

we use something simmilar at our club against a man, works well getting guys the ball around the 3 point line once he has it... its the same as attacking any zone...

Reply #91046 | Report this post

The Early Bird  
Years ago

How about 3 out 1 in and attack the gaps. Tell the kid that's being tagged that he must go to the boards on any shot. Also set screens at half court and a lot of on ball screens

Reply #91049 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

zone offense

Reply #91053 | Report this post

Bandit  
Years ago

Whilst I wouldn't mind showing off my profound knowledge about attacking a box and one defence, a very useful site you might like to try is:
http://www.coachesclipboard.net/Boxand1offense.html
If the link doesn't work go to the site any way by a cut and paste method.
You find more than enough information about how to use your "star" player and the other members of your team to your offensive advantage. Plenty of other information and drills also.

PS: The only "crap" coach is the coach that thinks they know it all and refuses to ask questions.
Keep going and enjoy learning. We all are.....!!

Reply #91057 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago

If hes a gun he will get open... simple... :-)

Reply #91058 | Report this post

Anonymous  
Years ago