smitty12
Years ago

Ingles is a Boomer for sure now!!

i have been saying this since the 2004 Athens Olympics that ma good mate, JiNGLES will be in the 2008 Beijing games...and i plan to be there to see him!! i dnt believe he's a Tony Kukoc as B-Goorj has described him, i say more of a Tayshuan Prince or Dirk!! i was at his first home game in Melbourne and will be there in China, and soon too the NBA.

Ingles to join Boomers squad:
Dragons rookie Joe Ingles can start being measured for an Australia representative uniform.

Boomers coach Brian Goorjian confirmed yesterday that Ingles, who seems certain to be named National Basketball League rookie of the year, will be in the next Boomers training squad and will make his senior national team debut on a tour of China next year.

"It's a no brainer," Goorjian said yesterday.

"Without a doubt.

"I knew he was going to be good and I was thinking more down the track, but I had no idea he would have the impact he's had."

The 20-year-old left-handed swingman took another step towards national selection with 28 points, five rebounds and seven assists in the Dragons' 107-94 win against Melbourne on Tuesday night, showing all the poise, composure and skill of a veteran.

That performance confirmed to Goorjian what he had seen and heard about the lanky South Australian, who has stepped from the Australian Institute of Sport to the NBL in a most assured manner, averaging 16 points per game, 5.2 rebounds and 3.0 assists.

Such has been Ingles' impact that Goorjian sees him as a possible pick for the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, eventually forming a backcourt partnership with Brad Newley in similar fashion to the Andrew Gaze-Shane Heal tandem that served the Boomers for a decade.

"He's long and athletic and he's really exciting," Goorjian said.

"One of the things we've struggled with is having guys put the ball on the floor and create shots and he does that.