Two years ago
3 second rule HELP!!!!
Coaching last night.
Had an opposition player camped in the key way (may have seen the tent come out).
I asked the umpire why it wasn't called 3 seconds. The ball was at the top of the key.
He replied 3 sec is an advantage rule and he was to no advantage to his team.
I replied it was to his teams advantage as he was pulling one of my defenders into the key way and freeing up their outside shots.
Is 3 sec an advantage rule?
If so how would anyone be able to judge that advantage?
Have I got the rule completely wrong?
Thank you for your help in advance as this is doing my head in!