LoveBroker
Years ago

NBL 21/22 and Covid

This is to discuss the current pandemic situation and how it impacts the upcoming season.

Disclaimer : I am not a medical expert. This is not a critique of each State's actions/ strategies nor it's people's compliance with the laws.

At this time it seems that despite the harsh lockdown measures, VIC, NSW, ACT and also NZ seeing numbers either grow or stay at high levels. We are simply not seeing the same successful results of previous lockdowns.

Even though the start of the season is around 12 weeks away, I don't think there will be a likelihood of NBL action in either NSW, VIC and NZ for a while, I am not sure if the rule that hard borders will persist until 28 days of consecutive zero community transmissions, if so its even less likely.

The NBL has experienced this of course and dealt with it successfully last season. However this season seems to have the potential to be worse as there seems no end to the infections.

Gladys is extolling the virtues of vaccinations as the way to the new normal at 80%. But will it work? Not all states are onboard to opening up all borders at 80%, in fact 80% in one state will not mean 80% in a slower state to vaccinate.

I trust that the NBL have the expertise to work out a strategy and a a counter should things change but previous workable options like front / back loading games may not be options if things stay as is.

What does this mean for the schedule? What of teams' financial forward estimates? As cynical as I am of the Sydney Kings, if I put my CFO hat on I am seeing another season of greatly reduced revenues and the player salary discounts have expired.

Anyone else have concerns about the upcoming season?

Topic #49176 | Report this topic

Anonymous  
Years ago

Much the same as the season past, no certainty for anyone, especially here in Perth.