Last year

Kia Nurse wins WNBL MVP

UC Capitals star Kia Nurse has etched her way into the Chemist Warehouse WNBL record books as the first import to win the Suzy Batkovic Medal for the league's Most Valuable Player.

The Canadian guard, who turns 24 next week, in just her second WNBL season polled 94 votes to win over Adelaide Lightning’s first-year star import Brianna Turner (88 votes) and a trio of Australian Opals - Melbourne Boomers co-captain Cayla George (70 ), Perth Lynx guard Katie-Rae Ebzery (69) and Adelaide’s Steph Talbot (65) – rounding out the Top 5.
A rising WNBA star with the New York Liberty, Nurse was the WNBL’s leading scorer this season, averaging 21.3 points per game plus 4.1 rebounds and 2.9 assists. She scored in double figures in every game, producing a WNBL career-best 33 points against the Southside Flyers in Round 14, while claiming multiple Player and Team of the Week accolades.
Full story on WNBL site

Topic #46884 | Report this topic

Last year

Deserving winner.

Reply #792764 | Report this post

Last year

BA really getting a lot of media mileage out of the MVP award /s

Reply #792772 | Report this post

Last year

Other award winners:

Coach of the Year - Paul Gorris (Canberra Capitals)

Betty Watson Australian Youth Player of the Year - Ezi Magbegor (Melbourne Boomers)

Robyn Maher Defensive Player of the Year - Mercedes Russell (Southside Flyers)

Sixth Woman of The Year - Alison Schwagmeyer-Belger (Perth Lynx)

Kia Nurse (UC Capitals)
Brianna Turner (Adelaide Lightning)
Leilani Mitchell (Southside Flyers)
Jenna O'Hea (Southside Flyers)
Katie-Rae Ebzery (Perth Lynx)

Mercedes Russell (Southside Flyers)
Bec Cole (Southside Flyers)
Steph Talbot (Adelaide Lightning)
Cayla George (Melbourne Boomers)
Alice Kunek (Sydney Uni Flames)


Reply #793670 | Report this post

Last year

(moved from the team-by-team post)

Who does the voting for All Star Five.
You would have thought that Kunek would be there before Talbot.
She's had an amassing season second in scoring.

Turner did poll well as you would expect, therefore taking votes away from Talbot. Kunek would have been the clear leader in Sydney by a mile.
Go figure

Regarding the voting question the article says
The two teams are selected by coaches and captains at the end of the season from a list of 20 players who received MVP votes during the regular season. Coaches and captains can't select players from their own team. Players are selected on their season performance rather than position.

I feel like 2nd team is appropriate for Kunek. Personally I would have had Russell in the 1st team and shifted O'Hea to the 2nd, and I would definitely have found a spot for Epoupa somewhere. I thought she had a better season than anyone on that 2nd team other than Russell.

Reply #794104 | Report this post

Last year

100% agree with you Luuuc.

Reply #794144 | Report this post

James Harvey fan  
Last year

Bit disappointing that there is no rookie of the year IMO. Ezi Magbegor won the youth player of the year (how is this defined?) but has already got a rookie award to her name.

Reply #794173 | Report this post


Reply to this topic

Random name suggestion for anonymous posters: Mimas 87

Rules:You must read the Terms of Use. No spam, no offensive material, no sniping at other clubs, no 'who cares?'-type comments, no naming or bashing under 18 players. Learn how to embed YouTube videos or tweets

Please proof-read your post before submitting as you will not be able to edit it afterwards.

Close ads
Beam Orders - a quick, simple order and payments site for your business. - Custom basketball uniforms
Punch - insightful time tracking

Advertise on Hoops to a very focused, local and sports-keen audience. Email for rates and options.

Recent Posts


An Australian basketball forum covering NBL, WNBL, ABL, Juniors plus NBA, WNBA, NZ, Europe, etc | Forum time is: 2:34 pm, Wed 27 Jan 2021 | Posts: 856,867 | Last 7 days: 1,235