Earlier this year
Clarification of Inbounds rule, please.
When a player inbounds the ball by roling it on the floor to avoid the clock starting, why is a 5 second violation not called?
The rule states that a team has 5 seconds to inbound the ball from the time the ball is available (to be thrown in). When the ball is inbounded the clock starts. But, as a player on-court has not touched the ball, the referee holds the clock "off". That clock should start within 5 seconds of it being avail. Even the time that the players take/waste in getting to the ball (to in-bound it) should be counted. Add to that the ball roling on the loor, untouched by on-court player... you get my drift.
Have posted similar question previously but have never had an adequate reply. I have asked this question of 3 referees at QBL games during the season. 2 siad it was OK but did not convince me that they ACTUALY knew or were embarassed by not knowing and covered with "Yeah, that's ok!" The 3rd ref I asked said that he did not know either and would find out. That, I can applaud. But unfortunately never caught up again so .. ?
And yes, I have read the FIBA rule and still cannot understand why this is allowed in games.
Lastly. no opinions on this one please. There are only 2 possibilities. Either it's ok or it's not! I really would like the answer.