Two months ago
Unsportsmanlike Foul / Flagrant?
Hi, I was a spectator of a basketball competition in Australia that uses FIBA ruling.
After getting an offensive rebound, the offensive player was driving towards the basket facing in the same direction as the defensive player who was standing still, back turned. The offensive player (being slightly taller than the defender) made contact with his elbow to the head of the defensive player. The foul was called on the defender.
The referee admitted to seeing the contact to the head and explained that the offensive player had "no intent" and was "accidental" and therefore, it should not be an offensive foul or flagrant.
Is this a flagrant 1 or unsportsmanlike foul on the offensive player even if they had no intent of hitting the defenders head using the elbow??
If you need more details let me know! Appreciate any responses