Years ago

Woolacott Medal

When was the Woolacott medal first awarded?
Where can I find a list of all the recipients?
Is it true that in the early days, in the event of a tie there was no shared medal, but the winner was determind by a "count-back"?
Does anyone know if this was the case and how nmany players missed out on a medal because of this.
Should they now be awarded the medal retrospectively?

Topic #8477 | Report this topic

Years ago

Sorry, 2 l's in Woollacott

Reply #94651 | Report this post

Years ago

Mike McKay lost the medal on a countback to Mark Davis (maybe even twice) and absolutely they should award it retrospectively.
Pretty hard to not give it to guys like this when people like Greg Olbrich have tied and won one with only one or two 1st preference votes.
As for when it was first awarded, only a guess but maybe in the 50's?

Reply #94652 | Report this post

Years ago

First awarded in 1947, to K.Miller of Anchors. Multiples awarded in 1949, 1992 and 1995

Reply #94688 | Report this post

Years ago

Woollacott Medal winners:

1947		K.Miller		Anchors
1948 M.Harris Panthers
1949 A.Branstorm Kingston
H.Davis Y.M.C.A.
L.Gibb Mormons
P.Sutton O.B.I.
1950 A.Mannick Estonia
1951 D.Collins Torrens
1952 D.Collins Torrens
1953 P.Roach Norwood
1954 G.Pearce West
1955 A.Ignatavicius Vytis
1956 A.Ignatavicius Vytis
1957 A.Hare North
1958 A.Dawe West
1959 A.Dawe West
1960 L.Hody Budapest
1961 B.Hennig Budapest
1962 D.Atkinson Norwood
1963 R.Trott Norwood
1964 M.Heard United Church
1965 M.Heard United Church
1966 W.Linde West
1967 A.Leslie United Church
1968 H.Nagy Norwood
1969 W.Linde West
1970 H.Nagy Norwood
1971 W.Linde West
1972 H.Nagy Norwood
1973 A.Blicavs Centrals
1974 A.Blicavs Centrals
1975 K.Richardson West
1976 L.Harcus Glenelg
1977 R.Hodges Glenelg
1978 P.Smyth Sturt
1979 M.Lampshire Torrens
1980 M.Lampshire Torrens
1981 R.Biddings Forestville
1982 A.Green West
1983 L.Loggins West
1984 S.Brekke Central
1985 A.Green North
1986 M.Davis South
1987 M.Davis South
1988 M.Davis South
1989 M.Davis South
1990 W.Jennette Noarlunga
1991 W.Hays Sturt
1992 W.Hays Sturt
M.Davis South
1993 R.Nunnelly Murray Bridge
1994 R.Nunnelly Murray Bridge
1995 S.Ninnis South
G.Olbrich Adelaide
1996 J.Bichmore Sturt
1997 R.Nunnelly South
1998 C.Spady Riverland
1999 R.Sapwell Norwood
2000 S.Arnold Norwood
2001 J.Dix Forestville
2002 J.Dix Forestville
2003 J.Holmes Eastern
2004 J.Holmes Eastern
2005 O.Forman Sturt
2006 D.Ng Sturt

Reply #94693 | Report this post

Years ago

Isaac do we have the Halls Medal winners as well? Sorry for asking as I know you have a lot of spare time not. hahaha

Reply #94707 | Report this post

Years ago

Thanks Isaac.
Do you know if any of the medals awarded between 1949 and 1992 were won on a countback?
I seem to recall that Werner Linde may have beaten Huba Nagy on a countback for one of his 3 medals (66, 69, 71)

Reply #94711 | Report this post

Years ago

They were in the last Hang Time for the season. Sorry, no time to look it up. Someone around the place should have it.

Reply #94712 | Report this post

The Journo  
Years ago

Didnt Rob Rose win the Woollacott in 95 but was ineligable cause he got suspended?

Reply #94750 | Report this post

Years ago

No, Rose finished 4th behind eventual winners Ninnis and Olbrich, Maher next then Rose.
He was ineligible for abusing Geoff Weeks though!

Reply #94774 | Report this post

Years ago

Halls Medal Winners
1956 S.Zeuner Payneham
1957 S.Poynter Payneham
1958 M.Kelertas
1959 M.Kelertas
1960 C.Winning North Adelaide
1961 B.Kersley Torrens
1962 P.Rowe North Adelaide
1963 B.Russell North Adelaide
1964 E.Drennan Vikings
1965 J.Brown Torrens
1966 M.Nagy Budapest
1967 J.Aston West Adelaide
1968 M.Asenkamps Norwood
1969 N.Lowe North Adelaide
1970 L.Moss United Church
1971 S.White North Adelaide
1972 A.Misiewicz Glenelg
1973 I.Blicavs Sturt
1974 J.Cheesman Glenelg
1975 H.Flynn Glenelg
1976 S.Harcus West Torrens 1977 J.Cheesman Glenelg
1978 J.Cheesman Glenelg
1979 J.Hammond North Adelaide 1980 S.Harcus West Torrens 1981 J.Stirling Forestville
1982 J.Stirling North Adelaide
1983 K.Todd Noarlunga City 1984 I.Nagy Sturt
1985 K.Foster North Adelaide
1986 C.Andrew South Adelaide
1987 C.Pujals West Adelaide
1988 C.Pujals West Adelaide
1989 R.Sporn West Adelaide
1990 D.Brown North Adelaide
1991 S.Collins Noarlunga City 1992 V.Daldy Norwood
1993 R.Sporn West Adelaide 1994 J.Hill North Adelaide 1995 N.O'Brien Norwood
1996 M.Weir Forestville
1997 T.J.Draper Sturt
1998 S.Simons Forestville
1999 V.Kelson Adel Southern
N.Lindsay Noarlunga City
K.Veal Norwood
2000 V.Kelson Adel Southern
2001 V.Kelson Adel Southern
2002 S.Batkovic West Adelaide
J.Mahony Sturt
2003 D.Smith South Adelaide
2004 D.Smith South Adelaide 2005 V.Kelson South Adelaide
2006 S.Woosnam West Adelaide

Reply #94775 | Report this post

Years ago

Only since early 90's I think they awarded dual medals. A few years back they investigated whether to award retrospective medals to those who lost on a countback. There was a suggestion that Julie Nykiel may have lost one. Michelle Ware lost on countback to Jan Stirling in 1981.

Reply #94881 | Report this post


Reply to this topic

Random name suggestion for anonymous posters: Pallas 30

Rules:You must read the Terms of Use. No spam, no offensive material, no sniping at other clubs, no 'who cares?'-type comments, no naming or bashing under 18 players. Learn how to embed YouTube videos or tweets

Please proof-read your post before submitting as you will not be able to edit it afterwards.

Close ads
Punch - insightful time tracking - Custom basketball uniforms
PickStar - The best place to book sports stars

Advertise on Hoops to a very focused, local and sports-keen audience. Email for rates and options.

Recent Posts

Invoicing clients? Stay productive with Punch, the insightful time tracker that earns you more.

Special offer: $30/month Pay $100 for lifetime access. Sign up now!


An Australian basketball forum covering NBL, WNBL, ABL, Juniors plus NBA, WNBA, NZ, Europe, etc | Forum time is: 7:48 pm, Thu 4 Jun 2020 | Posts: 834,928 | Last 7 days: 587